Archive for April 20th, 2012

4 Hari Lagi YES Live in Jakarta

April 20, 2012


Album ini sangat unik karena apada awalnya ditujukan sebagai alabum kedua dari ABWH. Inilah bukti bahwa Yes merupakan band yang sangat dinamis dan selalu berubah, tak hanya dalam hal formasi tapi juga musiknya yang gonta-ganti warna. Album ini memang tak seperti album klasik Yes namun bukan berarti album yang jelak. Saya sendiri suka album ini. Pemainnya juga unik karena semua yang pernah main di Yes ikut kontribusi ditambah pemain bass Tony Levin (King Crimson, Peter Gabriel, Liquid Tension Experiment).

Keep on proggin’ …!


Studio Album, released in 1991

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. I Would Have Waited Forever (6:32)
2. Shock to the System (5:09)
3. Masquerade (2:18)
4. Lift Me Up (6:30)
5. Without Hope You Cannot Start the Day (5:18)
6. Saving My Heart (4:42)
7. Miracle of Life (7:30)
8. Silent Talking (4:01)
9. The More We Live – Let Go (4:34)
10. Angkor Wat (5:24)
11. Dangerous (Look in the Light of What You’re Searching For) (3:39)
12. Holding On (5:24)
13. Evensong (0:52)
14. Take the Water to the Mountain (3:10)
15. Give and Take (see below)

Total Time: 65:25


Search YES Union lyrics

Music tabs (tablatures)

Search YES Union tabs

Line-up / Musicians

– Jon Anderson / vocals on 1, 2, 4-5, 8, 10-12, 14-15
– Chris Squire: bass on 4, 6-7, 9, vocals on 1, 4, 6-7, 9
– Tony Levin / bass on 1, 2, 5, 8, 10-12, 14-15
– Tony Kaye / keyboards on 4, 6-7, 9
– Rick Wakeman / keyboards on 1, 2, 5, 8, 10-15
– Alan White / drums on 4, 6-7, 9
– Bill Bruford / drums on 1, 2, 5, 8, 10-15
– Trevor Rabin / guitars and vocals on 4, 6-7, 9
– Steve Howe / guitars on 1-3, 5, 8, 11-12, 14-15

Review by Gatot
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator

4 starsThis album was supposed to be the second album for ABWH (Anderson, Bruford, Wakeman and Howe that turned out to be the new album for YES. It’s a memorable album as all members and ex members of two bands (YES and ABWH) reunited here forming this excellent album. Yes, I go with Dave Connolly’s rating that this is an excellent addition to any prog rock collection. Unfortunately Geoffrey Downes, Trevor Horn, Patrick Moraz and Peter Bank did not contribute here; so it’s basically not a total reunion album. But it’s okay, what matters is the spirit for “union” and also the quality of music created.Composition-wise, this is not exactly any style of old Yes as the music is a blend of Trevor Rabin era, ABWH style also classic Yes style. But for me it’s an excellent album. The album opener “I Would Have Waited Forever” (6:32) is an energetic music with dynamic performance by contributing musicians. “Shock to the System” (5:09) is my favorite that has a musical style similar with the opening track. “Masquerade” (2:18) demonstrates Steve Howe’s acoustic guitar virtuosity that reminds me to the glory days when he performed “Mood for A Day”. “Lift Me Up ” (6:30) which features Trevor Rabin on guitar and vocals characterizes the music of Yes “Talk” and it’s excellently composed.

The powerful lyric “Without Hope You Cannot Start the Day” (5:18) is one of my all-time favorite Yes track to start my day which usually I followed with hard driving rhythm music like Tom Sawyer (Rush) or Humble Stance (Saga) etc. to cheer up my day. “Miracle of Life” (7:30) is a track a bit complex with great combination of guitar and organ / keyboard. The other track that also inspires me is “Angkor Wat” (5:24) – so tasty and so melodic. I usually repeat this track whenever I listen to the album.

Overall, it’s an excellent addition to any prog collection. Keep on proggin’ ..!

Peace on earth and mercy mild – GW


Send comments to Gatot (BETA) | Report this review (#44421) | Review Permalink
Posted Saturday, August 27, 2005

Are You Ready, Jakarta?

April 20, 2012


Seorang teman, Rangga T Hoesin, posting di milis i-Rock! laporannya atas pemantauan kedatangan para professor Dream Theater:

Tambun banget ya si Petrucci.....



1 Hari Lagi Dream Theater Live in Jakarta

April 20, 2012

Buat nebak setlist Jakarta besok, ada baiknya kita simak apa yang mereka bawakan di Korea kemarin:

Dream Theater Concert Setlist at Seoul Olympic Hall, Seoul, South Korea on April 19, 2012
– Dream Is Collapsing (Hans Zimmer song)
– Bridges in the Sky 
– 6:00 
– Build Me Up, Break Me Down 
– Surrounded 
– The Root of All Evil 
– Drum Solo 
– A Fortune in Lies 
– Outcry (Acoustic)
– Happy Birthday (Mildred J. Hill cover) (Mike Mangini)
– The Silent Man 
– Beneath the Surface 
– On the Backs of Angels 
– War Inside My Head 
– The Test that Stumped Them All 
– The Spirit Carries On 
– (Petrucci / Ruddess Solo Intro)
– Breaking All Illusions 
– Pull Me Under 
Gawat juga ya … Outcry kok dibawain secara akustik? Mana seru? Wah …… Mudah2an versi studio yang dibawain…